Daman and Diu

Nani Daman Fort Nani Daman Fort
Capital : Daman
District(s) : 2
Population : 158,059 (6th)
Density : 1,296/km² (3,357/sq mi)
Language(s) : Gujarati, Marathi and English
Established : 1987-05-30

Daman and Diu is a union territory in India. For over 450 years, these coastal enclaves on the Arabian Sea coast were part of Portuguese India, along with Goa and Dadra and Nagar Haveli. Goa, Daman, and Diu were incorporated into the Republic of India on December 19, 1961. Portugal did not recognize the Indian annexation of these territories until 1974. Goa, Daman, and Diu were administered as part of a single union territory until 1987, when Goa was granted statehood, leaving Daman and Diu as a separate union territory; each enclave constitutes one of the union territory's two districts.

Marathi and Gujarati are the main languages; the use of Portuguese is declining because it is no longer official nor taught at school (but it is still spoken by 10% in Daman). There are Portuguese-based creole languages in Daman (known as Língua da Casa, "Home Language") and Diu (Língua dos Velhos, "Elder's Language").English is increasingly being accepted for official purposes.

Nagoa Beach Nagoa Beach
1.Diu District has an area of 40 km². The main settlement is the town of Diu.,
2.Daman District an area of 28 sq mi or 72 km². The main settlement is the city of Daman.

Daman and Diu's gross state domestic product for 2004 is estimated at $156 million in current prices.